Skip to content

A Convicted Judge

October 7, 2010

I remember hearing a story (or a parable or something) once about a couple of people standing before a masterpiece of art. I’m reminded of it this morning, though, for the life of me, I’m not able to recall where I heard it or who the people in the story were. But the point can be relayed without knowing those details, so I shall proceed.

Two people, as I mentioned, are standing before a masterpiece – a work of art that has withstood the test of centuries, and endures as a monument of artistic brilliance and superiority. One remarks, “I don’t think this is really all that special. Just because people say it is great doesn’t make it great. I don’t like it at all.”

To this his companion responds, “What you don’t realize is that when you are standing before this great work, the painting is not on trial. You are.”

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. iarehelopilot permalink

    I always knew those paintings were a tad creepy.

  2. Well Ryan, given one of the walls in your house I guess you probably do know a thing or two about creepy paintings 🙂

Leave a Reply

