Skip to content

Seriously!

November 6, 2010

Our church recently implemented some liturgical changes, and started using the Cantus Christi hymnal. Sam, who was baptized last week, loves the liturgy and is especially taken with the Cantus. This is the same Sam who puzzled for months over how the bread could also be a body, and how wine could also be blood. (We had the same conversation every night for literally months.)

From time to time Sam will write me letters. They’re simple letters, but fully expressive of what he’s thinking. I got such a letter the other night. This is what he wrote to me:

Dear Daddy,

I am so, so, so, so, so glad I got baptized.

Why is the dismissal, “Go in peace. The Lord be with you.” “And also with you. Amen.” ?

Love,

Sam Hadding

p.s. I do, do, do want a Cantus Christi!

Seriously!

We told him that we maybe we could think about that for a Christmas present. He’s ecstatic. So am I.

[Update: Whilst riding in the car a bit ago, Sam started rattling off a bunch of things he wanted for Christmas. I said, “Sam, I thought you wanted a Cantus Christi for Christmas.” To which he replied, “I do want a Cantus Christi…and a green whoopee cushion.” He makes me so proud.]

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

