Skip to content

Made to Sing

November 19, 2010

We’ve been talking a lot about singing in church lately. Actually, it is something that I’ve been trying to cultivate for some time. I myself am passably musical – I’ll not be doing command performances, but I can carry a tune – but I am not able to teach music.

I once read this quotation attributed to Antoine de Saint-Exupery: “If you want to build a ship, don’t summon people to buy wood, prepare tools, distribute jobs and organise the work; teach people the yearning for the wide, boundless ocean.”

In a variety of ways I have worked to demonstrate from Scripture that we are commanded to sing, that we believers should be the singingest people of all because of the joy we have in our King – after all, happy people sing – and that it makes worship and, indeed, all of life more meaningful. I have used the most compelling language I have to inspire to a yearning for the boundless ocean that is singing – especially congregational singing.

Our chief musician, Justin, has recently begun teaching us more about singing – how, why, etc. And I anticipate that it will have a revolutionary effect in our congregation, for which I am grateful and eager! This week he said something to us that was very helpfull. He talked about how we were made to sing, not just to listen to singing. God created us as musical beings. He mentioned that in our culture, singing is something that we feel compelled to leave to the professionals. With Justin, I say to this, “Rubbish!”

A short while ago I posted this quotation from Jim Jordan:

All speech is musical, though not in the fullest degree…. When you speak, your vocal chords vibrate. This is the equivalent to a stringed instrument. Also, wind goes through your throat and face. This is equivalent to a wind instrument. Finally, with your tongue, teeth and lips you create percussive effects. Your body is a musical instrument, an instrument created and designed to hymn God.

Today Tony Woodlief posted this. <– click it and watch the vids he links. Go. Seriously. I’ll wait.

We are, indeed, made to sing. (I dare you to watch this video and not tear up a little…no matter how many times you’ve seen it.)

You may also want to watch this video!  [HT: Bob McGee]

Bottom line: we are made to sing, so sing we must!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

