Skip to content

Stuck in the Middle with You

January 19, 2011

My wife is forty today. She’s no longer on the threshold of middle age, she’s in. Of course there is the obligatory taunting that comes with hitting such a mark, and I will not fail to take advantage of even the slightest opportunity to reference it for years to come. Don’t think me cruel; it is just a fitting response to the endless tide of old-man jokes I’ve been hearing for, well, a while. It’s what we do, and it is truly all done in love (and a bit of sport).

But there is more to my wife than her age (aggressively advancing as it is). I continue to learn things about her – and usually, having learned them, I realize that these things are not emerging characteristics in her, but that I am just then catching on to her wonderfulness. She consistently demonstrates that she cares for me and our children far more than she cares for herself. She is always searching for (and finding!) ways to enrich and beautify our lives, to take what she is given and to fashion it into something that will help us have fuller lives.

If the wife is the glory of the husband, then I am most glorified. Our Lord has blessed me far beyond my desserts, and his given me a wife who is far more precious than jewels. My heart trusts in her, and I will doubtless have no lack of gain. She does me good, and not harm, all the days of her life. Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children and I praise her!

My dear Martha, many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.

Welcome to middle age, my love. I’m glad to be here with you.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. You made me cry (in the good kind of way.)
    I am a woman most blessed to be your wife and there isn’t anyone I’d rather dance through middle age with…ya know if you have the strength to keep up with me 😉

    I love you, boy.

  2. Lauren M. permalink

    This is so sweet. I’m just sayin’. 🙂 Glad to know you both and to have such a wonderful example of a lovely marriage.

Leave a Reply

